Posted in Mom Life, Ramblings Of A SAHM

The Season Of Waiting

Do you remember your Senior year of High School? The year where all of a sudden you needed to get your -ish together because real life was going to be hitting you fast & hard? The year where you needed to decide where the *BLEEP* you were going with your life?

I’m not sure WHO decided that EIGHTEEN was the perfect age for someone to choose their life course. I can remember picking so many avenues but NEVER feeling like any of them were what I should be doing.

I wanted to pursue a career in music and acting…but didn’t know where to begin with chasing that dream. The whole thing felt so out of reach. So I didn’t even try.

I thought about starting school and becoming a Paralegal and then later going on to be a Lawyer. But I couldn’t pass a section of Math to get accepted, so I gave up.

I then settled for the thought of becoming a Kindergarten Teacher. I loved kids, I loved school, why not? But then I started college, HATED generals, didn’t know how to study…and dropped out.

Hi, my name is Makala Clark I am 27 years old, a wife, and a Mom of two, and HONESTLY I don’t even have the slightest clue about what I should do with my life. Anybody else?

This year as I sat down to write my goals for 2017, I couldn’t really think of much that I wanted to accomplish.

So instead I flipped to a blank page in my planner and at the top I wrote in big BOLD letters

Finding My PURPOSE…What Do I ENJOY doing? 

What Am I GOOD At? 

What Do I Ultimately Want To Do With My Life? 

My goal for this year is to fill this page up, find the common theme, and take the next step.

I then chose to pick up a book, one that would help me find some sense of direction . The Seed by Jon Gordon which honestly was no coincidence. The book is dedicated to purpose finding, which is exactly what I needed. If you are someone who feels LOST and  is searching for PURPOSE, you need to put this book on your list STAT!

So far, I have caught little glimmers but don’t want to jump the gun too fast. I’m ok with this year being dedicated solely to purpose finding. I’m in no rush. I want to enjoy where I am at right now, to slow down, to listen, and discover.

Something I have always known, but didn’t really get was that there is a season for EVERYTHING. Seasons teach us that there is a time and a purpose for everything. I am currently in the season of PREPARATION, and while that sounds totally boring, it’s actually really exciting and frustrating all at the same time.

I’m on this exciting quest to discover exactly WHY I am here, and WHAT I am supposed to do.

Now don’t get me wrong, I absolutely LOVE being a Stay At Home Mother. It has been a dream of mine since I can remember. But the seasons are changing. Next year both of my babies will be in school full time, and I need to find something for me.

Selfish? Not at all! Here’s the deal:

“Life is about YOU. If it weren’t about you, you wouldn’t be here. You are not an accident. You are here for a reason. You have a destiny. You have a purpose. You have gifts and talents. You do things that only you can do in the way you do them. You and only you can leave your mark on the world.

Life is about more than you. It’s about knowing you were made for relationships. To love. To mentor. To learn. To serve. To create. To work together. To change for the better.

It’s about living for more than you. For a bigger purpose for a greater cause. For those who will become your legacy.

It’s about you knowing you are part of something much bigger than you.

It’s about YOU! It’s about playing your part to the best of your ability. It’s about lifting others up. It’s about living the purpose God created you for.

Life is about YOU, and WHAT you do is up to you.” -Jon Gordon

I know without a shadow of a doubt I have a GLORIOUS piece to play in this world. And so do you.

But first you have to FIND it. Then you must have the COURAGE to follow it, no matter WHAT life throws your way.

So here I sit, watching & actively waiting & listening for signs. Signs that will point me down the path I need to go.

As the Cheshire cat tells Alice “If you don’t know where you want to go, then it doesn’t matter which path you take.”

I refuse to live my life wandering around in circles with no sense of direction or purpose. I choose to live a life filled with meaning, a life that brings myself and others joy, a life that is bigger than just me.

So don’t worry about the fact that you don’t quite have all your -ish together. Stop saying it’s too late. It’s NOT. There are many people in this world who found their purpose later in life. Remember that SEASONS are there for a reason, and TIMING is everything

So do me a favor. Starting TODAY live your life OUT LOUD and ON PURPOSE!

XOXO Makala

Author:

Hot Mess Mom. Jesus Lover. Taco Obsessed. Diet Coke Drinker. Mug Lover. Wannabe Yogi. Believer Of Magical Things

Leave a Reply

